Over the weekend I saw The Art of Getting By and Midnight in Paris.
The Art of Getting By is a romantic "comedy." Maybe...if you think awkward acting and long drawn out scenes are comical. This movie is so boring, it makes the teenage life seem like a lifetime of depression. The main character struggles with his existence, love, and unrealistic interpretations of his senior year of high school. He acts as if his world is ending, as if your life ends after high school. In reality, nobody ever wants to return to high school after they experience college. Also, his awkward friendship with his love...what was he???...abruptly starts with no background to friendship development. One moment they don't even communicate, the next they are best buds. And their love relationship is completely predictable. He falls in love with her, she doesn't want to admit she is in love with him, she hooks up with his friend, he doesn't want to be her friend anymore, they magically make up, and it ends with them questioning their future and realizing that they are too young to be in a serious relationship. We all saw that coming! The only funny part of this movie is when is calls his love a traitorous, sadistic little hussy. LOL. The sad part is that she doesn't even smack him. What girl would take that comment well? Worst movie since Beastly......................and then I saw Midnight in Paris.
Midnight in Paris is another "romantic comedy." Except that it is not romantic and it is not comical. I had low expectations going into this movie, but I did not think it was going to be as bad as it turned out. Seriously. Awkward acting, no chemistry between any of the characters, bad script, bad costumes, bad bad bad everything. Basically the main character is a romantic and goes back in time to the 1920s to live out his version of his golden age. He meets all of the famous writers and painters from that time period and has an orgasm everytime he meets one of his idols. And while he goes on his rendezvous, his fiance obviously finds warmth in another man. As for the fiance, she is a complete biatch and as bland as a rice cake. Nothing in the movie was funny and there is no character development so it is impossible to connect with the characters. WORST MOVIE SINCE BEASTLY. SERIOUSLY.
In conclusion, I saw two very bad movies over the weekend, which sucked because movies are expensive and they wasted my time. Hopefully the next movie I see will make up for these two.